Just starting out

If you’d have told me a year ago, I would be winding my way to Norwich on the train everyday, I would have said you’d had to many Bailey’s over the Festive period.

Twelve months since I started my new career, save to say, the best year of my (nearly) 22 years on this planet. On the 21st December 2016, I had my first day as a Trainee Travel Consultant. ‘What have a let myself in for?’ and ‘take me back to my comfy bank job’ springs to mind. With so much to learn and everyone else knowing what they were doing, it seemed like a mountain to climb, to be back to the standard I was at in my previous job. From knowing everything inside and out, back to front and the right way round, to being back at square one, in an industry I knew nothing about was very daunting. I have since lost my trainee status and moved offices, I feel things couldn’t be better.

The main reason for me applying/accepting a job in travel was for personal reasons as well as a change in career. Never being that comfortable with staying away from home, wanting to experience different cultures and places in the world but never feeling I could, was annoying me. It was time for a change and to go out of my comfort zone.

And here I am a whole year on, looking back in 2017 as the best year ever. I have met some incredible people, friends that I will have for life. Been to some beautiful places. Travelled half way across the world on my own!! Met family members I never knew I had. And found myself a career that I will have forever. Not many people can say that at the age of (nearly) 22. Also, there aren’t many people who can say they love their job as I do.

During this blog, I’m hoping I will be able to show others into the weird and wonderful life of a travel agent. The day-to-day and year-to-year events that happen in a travel agency. Personally, I think a ‘One born every minute’ style documentary of a travel agency office would go viral, but this will have to do for now.

I’m going places, and I’m taking you with me.

Leave a comment